Book Cover

Devil in the Detail (DC Scott Cullen Crime Series Book 2) (English Edition)

von Ed James  

‘Classic Scottish noir: bad food, bad moods, too much booze and tight plots’ @ey0k1, Twitter

For fans of Ian Rankin, Ed McBain and Christopher Brookmyre, Devil in the Detail is the second novel featuring Detective Constable Scott Cullen, in the gritty Scottish police procedural series that has set the bestseller charts alight.

Still reeling from the death of a colleague on his watch, DC Scott Cullen finds himself caught in the cross-fire of competitive police politics when the body of Mandy Gibson, a young disabled girl, turns up in the affluent East Lothian town of Garleton.

The heartbroken parents don’t hesitate to point the finger of suspicion at young Jamie Cook, a tearaway teen with a long history of run-ins with the police. But where is he now? When the victim’s and the suspect’s families are revealed to belong to an offshoot group of the Catholic Church run by an excommunicated priest, Cullen quickly realises that the key to catching the killer is finding out the darkest secrets of this close-knit community, one family at a time.

From bestselling author Ed James, Devil in the Detail is a tightly woven, gripping crime novel set in a middle-class town that isn’t nearly as wholesome as it looks.

Praise for Devil in the Detail

‘Brilliant and compelling. A must-read for those who enjoy crime thrillers’ Lisa, Amazon five-star review

‘[I have] struck gold! If you like crime fiction this is a must-read’ essexgirl, Amazon five-star review

‘The characters are convincingly drawn, and show all the human failings and frailties of real people … If I have a complaint, it’s only that Mr James will be completely unable to keep up with my reading speed. If there can be a higher compliment, I’m already comparing his quality with that of the late lamented Ed McBain’ R. Benson, Amazon five-star review

‘A real nail-biter’ Brian Smith, Amazon five-star review

‘A fantastic author and series … [Devil in the Detail] has some subtle twists and turns and others which knock you sideways. Highly recommended!’ Amazon customer, Amazon five-star review

€0,99   €4,99